RAPTOR STRIKE PHASE ONE

As we begin our project, a few notes…

Traveling to Binghamton on a daily basis has given me several sightings of Red tails. The problem with capturing these sighting is the mere fact that I am behind a wheel, and we all know that death comes to distracted drivers. AKA Texting, cell phone use, and even snap shooting. This is what I have gathered. These raptors seem to have a draw to the medians along interstates. On any given day I see between ten to twenty right in the middle of the thruway, and they simply seem to sit there. Poses a question, Why do they do this? I suspect because there are mice and or easy pickings for them in the search for a meal.

Sadly though, a problem with this, is the fact that this week I have seen five of these birds on the side of the road, Killed by traffic. I suppose this could be considered as an unfortunate incident, but with any wildlife that hovers around man-made structures, this is bound to happen.. It is however sad.

As I chase these raptors, here is the first image I have captured. While sitting in wait I spotted this red tail as he rode the crosswind. I know this sounds cliché, but I cant help myself. I simply just enjoy watching these creatures as they do what they do.

I guess it’s simple things for a simple mind… I’m cool with that.

Red Tailed in Flight

Red Tailed in Flight

MY BEST,

Mike.

One thought on “RAPTOR STRIKE PHASE ONE

  1. Saw one of the neighborhood Red Tails take a squirrel in my back yard again this week Mike. Since last Spring Ihave witnessed this family of 4 hawks take at least 6 squirrels, even managed to get some pretty good pictures of 1 from 20 yards.
    Marc

Leave a Reply

