Saying Good Bye to Winter

Putting it bluntly, I AM SICK OF WINTER! These grey dingy days, have left me in a spring fever state of mind. So as March rolls in, I am counting the days till we see temps in the 40’s and 50’s with a chance of blue skies and morning coffee on the back deck. In fact as I become more seasoned, I am quickly realizing that winter is a nice place to visit but, I don’t really want to live here. With that out-of-the-way, lets just go all positive on the topic and say that, until I move away from the frigid temps, I will make the most of it.

This weeks shot, and more on topic of why this blog is here, the photograph. I found myself on the shore of Lake Ontario as I was trying to get in touch with my photographic eye. In fact I was looking for a bit of inspiration, as I snapped this image. That’s when I realized, what I was looking for was right in front of me the whole time. We often times just pass on things we see, because we feel that we have seen it all before. Here is the problem, and I will call it photographic complacency. We so often become just used to our surroundings that we fail to look at things from a framed perspective. This is common and to combat it, we simply must keep snapping. What may be the normal when looking with eyes, can be completely different, when we frame a scene or subject and press that shutter.

My shot, SUNSET ON THE LAKE SHORE:

Sunset on Lake Ontario

Sunset on Lake Ontario

Oddly enough, I shot out side the comfort zone in this image. Shot with the 7d and the Tamron 18-270mm lens. I employed an iso of 3200 and shutter speed of 1/80 of a second. Metering was set to partial, and an aperture of 7.1 was used. I made some slight adjustments in Lightroom to the contrast and clarity of this image.

Ok so this image is not a knock it out of the park display, but the colors and the calmness of the scene, are getting me pumped up for the spring. My whole take on winter reminds me of an old commercial for Florida Tourism… MOM……………………… I NEED IT BAD.

On a bright note, my travels this week had me near Binghamton, New york, were I witnessed a Great Blue Heron in flight over a recently thawed swamp area…. Spring is coming soon. Stay tuned for the rebirth of a season.

My Best,

Mike

 

2 thoughts on “Saying Good Bye to Winter

Leave a Reply

