Photographing in a Winter Wonderland

One great aspect of winter is the unique opportunities that we are offered as photographers during these cold months ahead. Snow and grey light are often overlooked by many and I can’t stress enough the point of just getting your carcass out there and snapping shots during the winter months. I like most, have a disliking for the cold weather but the draw of winter landscapes is enough to get me out in the field, just to see what I can capture.

So let me lay this out for you. Todays weather, 24 degrees, winds between 8 and 10 mph. Heavy snow fall at times, with grey skies. To most this sounds like a great day to just stay in. To me It sounds like a great day to snap some shots.

My first image was composed to show you just how much snow was falling, and if this horse had the ability to speak, I am sure he would confirm my assessment of todays conditions.

Snowfall

Snowfall

Both Images were captured using  a 7D camera. ISO 200 with an aperture of F-11 and a shutter speed of 1/45 of a sec. I also used the camera’s partial metering mode to  ensure an even lighting pattern across the composition.

Let me in

Let me in

With the conditions exposed, I continued along on my morning ride and came across this creek. I decided to play with some HDR pictures while photographing this scene.

Settings F-8, at ISO 400, 1/90th exposure time, metered with partial. Blended with photomatix and final edits done in Lightroom.

Creek Bed in HDR

Creek Bed in HDR

HDR  Creeekbed

HDR Creek bed

Standard Resolution

Standard Resolution

One last shot for the post. This image just offered some simplicity. As the snow flew, I looked at this scene, and thought it was a just a nice shot. I also shot this as a HDR, and my hopes in doing so, was to put an emphasis on the falling snow.

HDR

HDR

So was the goal achieved?

Until next post, my best to you all.

Happy New Year!

Mike

www.xroo.com

3 thoughts on “Photographing in a Winter Wonderland

  1. While I am not a big fan of HDR, these are some very nice shots………………..you have avoided the common tendency to over saturate, which makes things look like drawings. Thanks for the nice stuff to look at.

    • Thank you sir! In the past I have over saturated, and although there is a time and place for that, I feel that often times the tendency is to over saturate just to distinguish the fact that it is an HDR composition. I hope I made sense with that opinion.
      MS

Leave a Reply

