Boom! There it is

Over the past several months, one of my quests in photography has been to photograph the Milky way. Although I have caught a few shots, to date the composition I have been looking for has not been achieved yet. Last night I stepped outside and as I looked up at the sky, low and behold there it was. That distinctive band of dimly lit night sky was staring me right in the eye. From my driveway I grabbed the camera, my tripod and set up for night photography.

As I awaited for cars to go by and motion lights to turn off, I continued to just stare at the stars. There is something that can be said about how a peaceful feeling comes from just simply enjoying the twinkle’s in the night sky.

The setup; A Canon 7d camera and the Tamrom 10 to 24 mm wide-angle zoom lens. Using an ISO of 400 to 800, I achieved these shots by employing an f-stop of 3.5 with exposure times between one and two minutes. Focused at 10 mm in manual mode with an infinite focus, and remote shutter release, I took advantage of the mirror lockup option as I snapped these images.

Under the Milky Way Tonight

Shot right above my head

;

A summary of the eve; Granted and acknowledged, these shots are not what I hope to achieve. They are not as sharp and detailed as you would expect. When the right time and right place scenario comes into effect, the rules and lessons I have learned from past shoots will be applied to achieve the composition so sought after. The rule of 600 has to be applied here, as well as the proper style of tripod and possibly a higher ISO setting than I currently use to get theses shots. If you look closely you can see that the my exposure time in fact caused just a little bit of star tilt in these images. Depending on focal length we can easily correct this problem, by applying a few simple settings and a few mathematical calculations to eliminate the star tilt effect. With the fall season upon us, my time in the woods will be greatly increased,and I look forward to sharing some images of the majestic Whitetail Deer.

This will also be the time of year that allows me to capture the Milky way in all its glory, as my location will be in an area that does not suffer from the light pollution that surrounds my home base. Until that time, my best to you all and thanks again for all of your comments and feedback regarding my recent posts. One last thing I would like to mention. Recently Abe’s of Maine honored me with the selection of the Hummingbird Moth as their shot of the week. This honor awarded me with a fifty dollar credit towards my next purchase, and I would like to thank the team over at Abe’s for this honor.

My best,

Mike

www.mrsargent.com

Shoot the Light

7 thoughts on “Boom! There it is

  1. I think you are being too hard on yourself! These are great shots! Especially considering they were sort of off the cuff. Congrats!

  2. I enjoyed the pictures, though I did see what you were talking about when you mention start tilt. Didn’t ruin my enjoyment of looking at the pics though. 🙂 Loved them!

  3. Every star comes out to play.

    As artists behind a camera or a brush, sometimes we have to wait in order for our creativity to be expressed in the best way possible. I’m still waiting patiently for the NASA/Kepler team to announce something that I can use to bolster my SF and fantasy art. I totally get what you’re after, and can hardly wait to see when you’ve done it.

    Congratulations on your windfall. Extremely well deserved.

Leave a Reply

