Two Posts in One Day WHA WHA WHAT/ A True Success story

 

With the passing of America’s birthday, I found myself with an extra day off from work. Using this time to scratch a growing itch for some wildlife photos, I took full advantage of the time, and I am now able to share with you a true story of success. Any of you that have been following my writings will recall, I recently did a story on a Osprey nest near my home here in Western New York.

OSPREY

Checking on the well-being and progress of these raptors I am thrilled to inform you that we now have juvenile osprey within the nest.

Hatchling exposing his head

For a brief time, I wondered if the Osprey had abandoned the nest simply because I had not seen them in several weeks. I however confirmed their presence when I spotted them 2 weeks ago, as one returned to the nest with a fish in talon.

 

Todays visit was just one stop on my photo day and this post will be all about the shots I captured today. My original intent was to capture a snow-white crane up close, but I was unable to get close enough to one. So when life hands you lemons , shoot, shoot and shoot some more. Here are some shots of the Osprey in full size for your enjoyment.

Adult and Young Osprey’s

In addition to the Osprey’s, I also took a walk around one of the many trails that exist in the area, and these are some of the shots I captured along the trail.

This shot is a simple dragon-fly and it was taken with a 7d camera and a 500mm zoom lens. I employed an f-stop of 7.1 and used a shutter speed of 1/2000 of a second. Although the shot is not as sharp as a macro lens I felt I was able to capture some pretty detailed photos with a super telephoto lens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These last shots are of my intended subject but they are not the close-ups that I had hoped to capture when I set out on my quest, but they are nice shots that I figured I would go ahead and share with you all.

Heron

 

 

 

Geese and Snow Herons

And one last shot for the day, another dragonfly that I shot when I exited the refuge.

Dragon fly

Hope you enjoyed the shots, and please let me know what you think.

All images were shot with a Canon 7d camera and a Sigma 100 to 500 mm super telephoto lens

My best to you all,

Mike

http://www.mrsargent.com

 

 

One thought on “Two Posts in One Day WHA WHA WHAT/ A True Success story

Leave a Reply

