Pileated Pride

Pileated woodpeckers have always been one of my favorite subjects to photograph. Up until a year ago, I had never seen one in the wild. That was because I had no idea that they even existed. I quickly became interested after some conversation with an old friend who informed me that they are kind of rare to see. After some internet education, I knew what call to listen for and the type of terrain they like to inhabit. ironically while sitting on my back porch, I spotted one that was feeding on my bird feeders. surprised I snapped a few shots, nothing great but they were proof that I had one visiting my feeders.

Continuing on with my search, I proceeded to take a more active pursuit in trying to photograph one in the wild and after a few days of trail walking I heard the call of the Pileated woodpecker. Moving slowly towards the call, I spotted him flying from tree to tree, as he searched for insects in the bark. As luck would have it, I navigated within 30 yards and proceeded to snap a few shots.

I shared this photo with a company called Pileated Pride and they make suet cakes.

Pileated Woodpecker

They have sent me a sample of their product and after initial inspection, let me say I am impressed! The ingredients used to make this suet are of the highest quality and are sure to be the suet of choice for the birds that visit our feeders.  In the coming days I will be posting video and photographs to prove just how good this suet is.

To let you all in on a little secret, photographing birds in the wild is a great way to spend a day, but over time I have utilized bird feeders and suet cakes to enhance the encounters I have had with our feathered friends. These linked photo’s earned me the nickname “THE BIRD WHISPERER.”

I don’t often find myself endorsing or reviewing products, but in this case I wanted to share with you a product that I have found to be superior in quality and with the video footage I am capturing as well as the photos, you will see why I am giving these guys a shout out.

As always thanks for reading, and look for my next post on the results of Pileated Prides Suet.

MY BEST,

MICHAEL

One thought on “Pileated Pride

  1. Love your post! That picture of the pileated woodpecker is incredible. I, too, am fascinated by this beautiful and elusive bird. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

