Downy Woodpecker

A tremendous greeting to you all, welcome to the post. My name is Michael Sargent, and you are reading my blog. what’s snapping folks? As always I have a few things to get to, so let me get started. First up, I want to share a small trailer with you. If you hadn’t guessed yet, I am a nut for photography. I find that spending time, with my camera in tow is a great way to relieve stress as I stroll through the woods in search of  that next shot. So here is what we have going on. Friends and some family have been encouraging me to put together a show regarding, what else? Photography. We all have seen shows regarding the topic come and go, and they have one thing in common. The hosts are usually stale and boring, and this leads to the cancellation of the program. Well, based on reaction to my shoots, I have been told several times that I have the chops to make the subject interesting to them. Could this be the future for Michael Sargent and M. Sargent Photography? Time will tell.  http://youtu.be/ksuffzWRoCw

On to the subject of the photo. For quite some time now I have had a fascination with woodpeckers. Here in Western New York we have several species, and I have taken the time to learn the sounds each specie makes, and am able to identify the bird by sight. From the Downy to the often heard by rarely seen pileated. Todays shot is regarding the downy. I snapped this shot on a bitterly cold day , at

downy at suet basket

my home in NY. During the winter months I keep the feeders, and suet baskets filled as I enjoy watching the antics of these incredible creatures. The shot sets up like this, canon camera, with an iso of 400, and a speed of 1/500 of a second. My aperture was set at f-8 at a range of 270mm. The lens used was a Tamron 18-270, and to be noted, I love that lens.

Although I could have used a super zoom at a greater distance, these visitors have become used to my presence, and they allow me to get closer proving the old adage, “The greatest zoom lens will always be your feet”. Thanks for reading and I am looking forward to your comments and thoughts regarding this post.

My best ,

Mike

Leave a comment